The Boys (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Boys By Katie Hafner Cover Image
$18.00
On Our Shelves Now
13 on hand, as of Apr 14 4:04am
(FIC-)

Staff Reviews


This is a quirky, heartfelt story of love and loneliness peppered with laughter. Socially awkward, introverted Ethan manages to fall in love with an outgoing woman who helps him come out of his shell. When the couple decides to foster two brothers, things take a curious and surprising turn.

— Pat

July 2022 Indie Next List


“Sometimes a novel just settles into your heart. Such is the case with The Boys. Sweet, heartbreaking, and completely original, this novel by Katie Hafner is wholly unforgettable.”
— Mary O'Malley, Skylark Bookshop, Columbia, MO

Description


"Hafner's taut and utterly delightful debut is a novel of multitudes. . . . What a wonder of storytelling."--Weike Wang, New York Times
New York Times Editor's Choice * Good Morning America Reading Pick * LitHub Most Anticipated Book * Christian Science Monitor Summer Reading Pick
A delicious summer read filled with humor and surprise for readers of Anne Tyler and Kevin Wilson.When introverted Ethan Fawcett marries fun-loving Barb, so comfortable in the world, he has every reason to believe he will be delivered from a lifetime of solitude. She fills his world with a sense of adventure, expanding his horizons beyond his comfortable routine. To ease Ethan's fears of becoming a father, Barb suggests they foster two young brothers, Tommy and Sam, and Ethan immediately falls in love with the boys.When the pandemic hits, he becomes obsessed with providing a perfect life for them. But instead of bringing Barb and Ethan closer together, the boys become a wedge in their relationship, as Ethan is unable to share with Barb a secret that has been haunting him since childhood. Then Ethan takes Tommy and Sam on a biking trip in Italy, and it becomes clear just how unusual Ethan and his boys are.

About the Author


Katie Hafner is a journalist and author who writes frequently for The New York Times and The Washington Post. She is the author of six non-fiction books including Mother Daughter Me, a memoir; A Romance on Three Legs: Glenn Gould's Obsessive Quest for the Perfect Piano; Where Wizards Stay Up Late: The Origins of the Internet (with Matthew Lyon). She is host and co-executive producer of the popular podcast, Lost Women of Science. The Boys is her first novel. She lives in San Francisco.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781954118348
ISBN-10: 1954118341
Publisher: Spiegel & Grau
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2023
Pages: 256
Language: English