Lafayette Library presents Jessica Shattuck, author of "Last House"

Event date: 

Wednesday, May 22, 2024 - 7:00pm

Event address: 

Lafayette Library - Don Tatzin Community Hall
3491 Mt. Diablo Blvd.
Lafayette, CA 94549
LLLC Foundation logo
Jessica Shattuck
Last House cover

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Women in the Castle comes a sweeping story of a nation on the rise, and one family’s deeply complicated relationship to the resource that built their fortune and fueled their greatest tragedy, perfect for fans of The Dutch House and The Great Circle.

​Spanning multiple generations and nearly eighty years, Last House tells the story of one American family during an age of grand ideals and even greater downfalls. Set against the backdrop of our nation’s history, this is an emotional tour de force that digs deeply into questions of inheritance and what we owe each other — and captures to stunning effect the gravity of time, the double edge of progress, and the hubris of empire.

​Jessica Shattuck is the New York Times bestselling author of The Women in the Castle; The Hazards of Good Breeding, a New York Times Notable Book and finalist for the PEN/Winship Award; and Perfect Life. Her writing has appeared in the New York Times, The New Yorker, Glamour, Mother Jones, and Wired, among other publications.

TICKETS

 

Pre-Order Now Badge
Last House: A Novel By Jessica Shattuck Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780062979896
Availability: Coming Soon—Available for pre-order.
Published: William Morrow - May 14th, 2024