Manuel Muñoz, Winner of the 2023 Joyce Carol Oates Prize

Event date: 

Saturday, October 7, 2023 - 3:00pm

Event address: 

276 Village Square
Orinda, CA 94563-2504
Manuel Muñoz
JCO-New Literary Project LOGO

Manuel Muñoz, author of the celebrated short-story collection The Consequences, in conversation with Hannah Onstad of New Literary Project.

Manuel Munoz is the author The Consequences, a collection of short stories set in California’s Central Valley. He’s also published a novel, What You See in the Dark, and the short-story collections Zigzagger and The Faith Healer of Olive Avenue, which was shortlisted for the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award. Manuel Muñoz has been the recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the New York Foundation for the Arts. He has also been recognized with a Whiting Writer’s Award, three O. Henry Awards, and an appearance in Best American Short Stories. A native of Dinuba, California, he currently lives in Tucson, Arizona, where he directs the MFA Program at the University of Arizona.

Hannah Onstad holds an MFA in Creative Writing from Saint Mary's College of California. Her book reviews have appeared in Harvard Review and HA Journal, a publication of the Hannah Arendt Center for Politics and Humanities. She is the NewLit Communications Director and lives in Oakland, CA.

The Joyce Carol Oates Prize is awarded by New Literary Project annually to a mid-career author in recognition of their body of work.

I was struck immediately by the beauty, poise & effortless empathy of The Consequences… As one who much appreciates the art of the short story, I was filled with admiration for a writer who creates an entire world within the space of a few pages, with seeming effortlessness.” Joyce Carol Oates


The Consequences: Stories By Manuel Muñoz Cover Image
ISBN: 9781644452066
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - October 18th, 2022